AEWG-59: Seattle, WA, May 17-18, 2017


AEWG-59: Meeting Announcement

The 59th Conference will be held at

Cedarbrook Lodge, Seattle, WA, USA

May 17 - 18, 2017

AEWG general meetings are open to all interested individuals.


This site ( hosts latest information for the upcoming AEWG meeting.

Also provided for free download is the Journal of AE (JAE), all editions since Volume 1 to 31,
as well as contents and index information, searchable for word/term/author!


The 59th meeting of the Acoustic Emission Working Group will be held May 17-18, 2017 at the Cedarbrook Lodge in Seattle. The meeting is open to all individuals interested in acoustic emission technology and applications.

Talks describing AE applications in any field, as well as advances in AE fundamentals, sensing, and signal processing, are invited.  In keeping with the working group character of the meeting, discussion of work in process is particularly welcome.  Students may submit an extended abstract for consideration for the AEWG Student Award. The initial call for abstracts is open until March 15.  An online submission form is in preparation and will be posted here when ready.

Technical and business meetings will be held Wednesday-Thursday, May 17-18, with the AEWG banquet and awards ceremony on Thursday evening. A block of hotel rooms with check-in on Tuesday evening, May 16, and check-out on Friday morning, May 19, is being prepared.

Topics will cover all the areas of acoustic emission research, development and applications, including but not limited to:
  • Special session on wave propagation of AE source mechanisms (chaired by Dr. Marvin Hamstad)
  • Special session on AE for composites (chaired by Dr. Jonathan Awerbuch)
  • Special session on Advances in AE instrumentation and sensors (chaired by Mark Carlos)
  • Special session on AE for materials/structure damage mechanics (chaired by Dr. Antonios Kontsos)
  • Special session on AE applications for large scale structural testing (chaired by David Kosnik)
  • Novel signal processing approaches
  • Material research, fracture and fatigue failure mechanisms
  • Geosciences and rock mechanics
  • Orthopedics and biomechanics
  • Manufacturing applications
  • Diagnostic techniques & procedures
  • Codes and standards development
  • AE theories, methods, validation and verification

Tentative workshop themes:

  • New Acoustic Emission instrumentation, data processing and nondestructive/structural health monitoring applications
  • Use of Acoustic Emission for materials/structural damage monitoring and identification
  • Analytical, numerical and computational modeling as well as validation of Acoustic Emission source and wave propagation effects

Important Dates:

  • Extended Deadline for Abstract Submission: tbd
  • Acceptance Notification: tbd
  • Registration Deadline: tbd


Meeting date: May 17-18, 2017
Program: Technical and business meetings will be held Wednesday-Thursday, May 17-18, with the AEWG banquet and awards ceremony on Thursday evening.
Registration: In preparation
Student Award
Students are encouraged to submit a paper for Student Award Competition consideration.
Venue Information: Cedarbrook Lodge, Seattle
Lodging: A block of rooms at the Cedarbrook Lodge, a luxurious retreat-style hotel near SeaTac Airport (SEA), is available.  We are pleased to offer a group room rate of $239/night.

The room block expires on April 17
, so please don't delay in making your reservation.
  • Make your reservation via this direct link or by using group code AEWG at
  • Note that due to a misunderstanding with the hotel, the group code will appear as "Acoustic Technology Working Group" rather than "Acoustic Emission Working Group".
  • The hotel offers free shuttle service to the airport and to the Sound Transit Light Rail system, which provides convenient access to downtown Seattle.
Call For Abstracts: Meeting Host Dr. David Kosnik sincerely invites the submission of abstracts to be presented at the upcoming conference:
  • The deadline for submission: tbd.
    Acceptance Notification: tbd
  • Please email your paper to:
  • The language used in this event is English, so please write your paper in English.
  • Please email an abstract for your paper in 100-300 words together with your paper.
  • Please attach the following personal information in the email:
    Author’s name, organization, address, phone number and email address.
  • The author will be notified within one month after submission of the papers.
Subscribe to the
AEWG Announcements
mailing list:
* indicates required


Hal Dunegan
Harold Loyd Dunegan
1931 - 2016


49  years passed since the first meeting of Acoustic Emission Working Group (AEWG) was held in Idaho Falls, on February 8, 1968.
AEWG had its beginning in a discussion between Allen T. Green (then at Aerojet-General Corp., now at Acoustic Technology Group) and Jack Spanner (then at Battelle Northwest). Spanner arranged for a formative meeting of interested parties to be held in Alcoa, TN, on November 2, 1967.
The 12 people in attendance agreed to hold the first meeting in Idaho Falls in three months. At that time, eight others (T. Theodore Anderson, Thomas F. Drouilliard, Robert B. Engle. Robert G. Liptai, O.K. Mitchell, R. Neal Ord. Ronald E. Ringsmith and Richard K. Steele) joined to become the charter members of the AEWG.

The photo is from the AEWG formative meeting; top, from left Robert Moss. Boeing Scientific Research Lab. (Seattle) -deceased; Dwight Parry, Phillips Petroleum (Idaho Falls); Norm K. Sowards, Same; Harold Dunegan -deceised, Lawrence Radillion Lab. (Livermore); Brad H. Schofield, Teledyne Materials Research. (Waltham); Phil H. Hutton. Battelle Northwest (Richland); Allen Green. Aerojet-General Corp. (Sacramento); Herb N. Pederson. Battelle-Northwest (Richland); bottom, from left; Charles Musser, Boeing Michaud (New Orleans) -deceased; Jack Spanner, Battelle-Northwest (Richland)· Julian Frederick. Univ. of Michigan (Ann Arbor) -deceased; Not in picture, Harvey Balderson. Boeing Commercial Aircraft; deceased.  Baldemm took this picture. Also invited to the meeting, but not attended: C. Hartbower, Aerojet-General. W .R. Sturrock. Boeing. C. Tatto, Lawrence Radiation Lab.
More historic pictures...